Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

A Dilema of Limits

Maybe I’m being a bit too quick to worry and critizise myself whilst I’m still on the “play money” tables, but I can’t help but wonder about how I’ll do if I stick to FL (fixed limit) games when I return with “real money”.

Just suffered another two losses on the FL tables, neither was played too badly, only obvious mistake was trying to check-raise, when my opponents where likely on draws, and lost out on a missed bet. My starting standards probably arn’t as strict as they should be, but keeping any standards at all takes a great amount of discipline when all around you pots are being won with queen high off suite, yes queen high off suite!

From time to time, tonight being one of these occassions my (play) bank roll needs replenishing after a couple of bad losses. My solution is simply to hop onto a PL table for  a few hands, if after several returns of the BB (Big Blind) I don’t have a hand worth playing I’ll leave to find another table, or more likely I’ll get a high pair, or an ace with a good kicker and contest a pot, the result usually being I double or tripple up my investment.

This puts me in a dilema, although one with only any bearing in a “play money” sense,  should I stick to FL games or return to the “more lucrative” PL games?

If I wasn’t going to return to the “real money” tables, then there wouldn’t really be a dilema at all, I would simply play what I feel like, when I feel like it, but knowing I will be returning to the “real money” tables, I feel the need to base my descions on what games I play on something more profitable then a likeness for PL tonight?

The specifics of the problem being that despite moving to fix limit to keep my variances in check, its having the opposite effect, despite early sessions of win after win, my bankroll has been up and down more times then a roller coaster with PL tables being the only stable factor – I double or triple up regularly.

September 29, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

