Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Small Wins, Larger Losess

The 15 (real money) games I’ve played on Poker Stars so far have fallen into two categories, small wins or (relatively) large losses. Thankfully I’ve only lost money of 3 occasions, so my balance hasn’t been affected all that much, but I’m still worried about these losses, especially has it has been taking me 3 or more games to recoup each loss.

I believe these results can be explained by two weaknesses on my part:

  1. Not wanting to leave a game at a loss. I tend to keep playing, sometimes in a bad game, but usually just not at my best, to try and break even or earn a small profit before I leave.
  2. Not wanting to risk my bankroll, or even my current in-game profits, so I am leaving good games far too soon, only to join a tougher or less profitable game later on.

I’m sure I’ll get over both of them when my bankroll starts to increase, allowing me to play with a cushion of previous profits, but the games will be much more enjoyable and probably profitable if I can find a way to get beyond them sooner.

October 10, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. As moving towards a professional career in poker (Of which I am also aiming to achieve) Are you considering separate online and live bankrolls?

    Comment by Paul Robinson | May 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hia, thanks for stopping by.

    I’m so far away from my goal, I haven’t given it much thought to be honest, but I think a typical idea is to have an overall portfolio of your money, like you would with any other investments, and then divide this up, between for eg, online play, live play, big events, and other investments.

    PS : I am no longer updating this site at the moment, as I have moved to a new domain.

    http://www.luckystraights.com/

    Comment by luckystraights | May 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

