Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

2nd Place in NL Sit-N-Go

Just finished over an hours grind on a NL Sit-N-Go table, I’ve lost two or three of these tonight, and in all suffered most of my losses down to sheer bad luck, I’m getting really sick of being done out of an important pot or being sent to the rail because some idiot called me when they shouldn’t have and then got lucky on the river, so a cash finish here was really important.

Anyways back to the tournament, it was pretty standard play throughout most of it, there wasn’t any craziness, only noticeable thing was the then chip lead throwing is weight around a lot. As people got busted out though the game intensified, and as soon as the 5th person got knocked out there was a huge fight on, the chip lead was in a comfortable position by this point with around $3k ahead of her closest competition the rest of us where pretty even, which caused for a great amount of action.

I managed to last out to 3rd place so I was in the money, but I really wanted to get beyond 3rd place, as I’ve finished in 3rd twice now, so despite being at least $2k bellow my nearest in chips I stepped up the pace and became more aggressive as you should do shorthanded, it paid off as soon I was almost level with one of my opponents. The new chip leader at this point seemed content to let us battle it out alone, and would only enter the pot if one of us folded.

Lots of aggressive battles took place between us whilst the chip leader sat back, and I’m pleased to say that I eventually got the better of my opponent and had secured 2nd place money, this is easily credited to my recent short stack and heads-up experience.

Now although happy with 2nd place I had my best chance yet at finishing first with the chip leader in site, so I went for it. All was going well, until my opponent semi-slow played his nut flush, when I made my straight, wrongly sensing weakness I made my move, the pot was vast by now and it was clear the winner would take the tournament, so I was a little devastated when the cards where turned.

Still I kept up my end pretty well, but now only having a little over $200, and with blinds in the range of 400/600 plus a $25 dollar ante I was all-in in the very next hand, I managed to get lucky and win that hand and one or two more that followed, and I began to hope for a miracle, it wasn’t to be, my opponent played his part well and kept up the pressure, eventually I moved all-in with JTs and missed the flop, my opponent took the pot and the tournament with ace high, leaving me to finish second.

Although I’m disappointed at not finishing 1st I’m happy with 2nd for now, and after several bad runs with the Sit-N-Go’s earlier I really needed the extra money awarded for finishing above 3rd for a change.

October 17, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

