Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

A Bigger Lay-Down!

I’m getting really sick of online players at the moment. A complete arse hole forced me to lay down KK, because he made a huge raise which put the short stack all in. He only held AT and considering the situation and the size of his raise it wasn’t enough, and the other guy came off the better taking virtually all his chips. Now normally I would be ecstatic that some lunatic idiot donkey got most of his chips stolen, because this was one huge raise that didn’t land his way, but in this case no… if he wouldn’t have made such a stupid raise I would have busted out the short stack and we would have all been in the money far sooner.

As it went down though the short stack became the chip leader and I was now the short stack and in a real bad position with a couple of thousand in chips and facing three opponents now with roughly equal chips stacks.

Thankfully though some cards fall my way, I hit trips on the flop, I knew exactly what to do as I managed the same trap against an equally large arse hole earlier in the day. I bet the minimum on the flop, it was a risk as there where two clubs on the board, but no club showed on the turn, so I bet the minimum again, and as if by clockwork Mr A Hole makes is move with a huge raise for 2/3 my stack, perfect, I raise just a little and he raises himself all-in (cah-ching), I see his cards and he’s holding a king which paired on the flop!

So thankfully for once I have a nice chip stack while 3 handed, in fact this is the first time I’ve ever had the chip lead as we moved from 4 to 3 handed I think. It didn’t take long and the short stack was on the rail, it was heads-up, and who do I face, the same guy I would have knocked out earlier with my pocket Kings!

I was feeling good though, I made 2nd place money again and was in a great position to take the tournament. All didn’t go to plan though, after a few flops that didn’t fall my way we where more or less level, soon though against yet another tournament deciding pot I come the worse off, and in the next couple of hands I’m all in, each of us only hit a single king on the flop, be he holds a queen kicker, beating my jack… its been one of those days.

October 17, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

