Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Respect…

Just got off an heads-up table on Poker Stars, I managed to win it but it was very tough and respect needs to go out to my opponent. This is the first person who nearly, but thankfully not quite busted me, he had me down to a little over $200 and I almost gave up. I did keep fighting though and with a few flops that fell my way I managed to scrape back up.

He was pushing me all the way though, and is the most aggressive pre-flop opponent I’ve faced on the heads-up tables so far.

I’ve won 8 out of 12 of these heads-up sessions now, which ain’t bad, my stats would be better but on occasions I’ve played because I’m bored or can’t sleep, which is stupid I know and its then where the losses mount up.

In other news I’m now back bellow my deposit amount 😦 only by a little though, had a bad run on the NL Sit-N-Go tables, but I’m not as worried about it now that I’ve realized I can soon make gains either on the heads-up tables or in a single table tournament.

I think I am going to look to build my bankroll a little with the Sit-N-Go games, both the heads-up and single table variety. I feel I have a greater chance at winning the heads-up games, but they have a far greater demand on me emotionally / mentally, so I actually prefer the full table games now and then. Once I’m ahead by a few dollars I’ll try out a higher limit heads-up limit game and maybe $3+ limit tournament, but I won’t move up the limits in the Sit-N-Go’s until I’m ahead at least one buy-in. If I manage to increase my bankroll to an amount I’m happy with I’ll hit the cash tables again, but this time no lower then the 5c/10c limits, the 2c/4c tables have been driving me nuts lately.

October 17, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Single table sit ‘n go’s are a great way to build your poker bankroll. The variance is much lower than multi-table tournaments and cash games. You might also consider a minimum of 25x buy-ins before moving up to the next level.

    Comment by SitNGoTraining.com | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. My main problem at the moment, is not stopping myself from playing, when I shouldn’t.

    I make good runs, start to build a nice profit, the next day I keep playing even though I’m not playing my best, or I end up playing when I’m really tired just because I have nothing else to do,its really stupid, and I know when I’m doing it I just can’t seem to prize myself away from the tables.

    My other problem with the sit-n-go’s at the moment, is that my aggression as dropped down at notch, I think this is down to loosing earlier profits, and always having to win them back, so this won’t be a factor either as soon as I can maintain some self discipline.

    I enjoy the sit-n-go format, judging by the recent performances though it will be a while before I decide to move up in limits.

    Comment by luckystraights | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. I agree with the first comment!

    Comment by online poker paul | October 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

