Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Biggest Win So Far…

I’ve just come first in a home poker tournament winning my biggest poker earnings from a single tournament so far, £20 from a £3 buy-in.

The crazy thing is I went in the intention to just watch and maybe deal for everyone but got too excited as people started to take their seats so I bought in, and I’m very glad I did.

There where a few irregularities, but nothing to major so it was actually a really good tournament, and I surprised myself by how much I was enjoying it. I tried to make sure some key rules where upheld, and in the most part they where, though a couple of people kept removing there cards or chips from the table and there where a few attempts to make incorrect bets. The only real nightmare was that almost everyone was acting out of turn, especially when they wanted to fold.

I amassed a nice lead, winning my first 3 hand, but after awhile with the chip lead, I started to loose concentration so lost the lead, I regained my composure though and kept playing solidly, gradually building my stack and knocking people out until it became heads-up.

After a few bouts heads-up, I landed AJo and hit top pair with the jack on the flop, I raised my opponent all-in and he called, the turn paired is 7, but my jacks held up giving me the win.

I look forward to the next game they host, besides a few issues with the blinds and the almost constant acting out of turn it was a pretty well run game, certainly compared to some games I have witnessed.

October 25, 2007 - Posted by | Home Poker | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Well done, nice result!

    Comment by doublemeup | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks

    After my first 3 hands I had doubled my stack, so I think people seriously underestimated me at the table. If I didn’t start playing daft after taking the lead so early, it would have been over a whole lot faster.

    I did really enjoy it though, and especially loved it when my house mate won a huge pot when he played AK perfectly, it was pure class.

    Comment by luckystraights | October 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

