Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Dissapointed

Just placed 4th in my second eighteen player NL tournament, I’m more then a little disappointed I had my heart set on winning my first two of these, and expected to make 3rd at least, still at least I cashed.

Final hand came down to me seeing a flop with KTs, it was raised pre-flop, but we where heads-up and my opponent raises pre-flop almost every hand so the raise didn’t show anything here. The flop gave me a blank, but I couldn’t put my opponent on a hand, instead I figure him for a steel so I raise him, he calls and I hit my king on the turn, I check, he bets out with a large bet, and I raise all-in, he shows J8o, he made two pair on the flop, I didn’t improve and was sent to the rail in 4th.

I feel I was a little unlucky here, running into this particular player when he flopped two pair, he could have easily gone to show-down with only queen high, having witnessed it several times, and when the king came I thought I was in a good position against his Jx being the highest hand I put him on after seeing the flop. In hindsight as he had me well covered simply calling him down might have been the better play, instead of trying to raise him off his hand on the flop.

October 25, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

