Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Poker Tools

Heres a few tools that I am hoping to road test over the next week, neither of them I have used before, but it should be pretty easy to integrate them into my poker habits.

The tools are :

1. Sit-N-Go Power Tools, suggested to me by doublemeup, Which seems to help you focus on winning the most real money possible rather then the most tournament chips in Sit-N-Go’s. I think I employ pretty good strategies in this area already so it will be interesting to see if or how I change once I’ve used this.

2. Poker Hand, a web based system to upload, store and represent your hand histories. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to utilize this with Poker Stars, failing that I’ll give it a try on a FTP play money table just to get used to it, it may prove useful at some point.

3. Finally, I am going to give Poker Search a try, it is a dedicated poker related search engine. I don’t search the web for poker related information anymore so it will be interesting if Poker Search will bring up something useful.

October 26, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Regarding SNG Power Tools, there are two other products you should check out before making a purchase. One is called SNG Wizard and the other is called SNGEGT.

    The advantage of SNG Wizard over the other two is that you can use it to calculate ICM situations when someone limps or raises before your push/fold decision. The other two will not allow you to calculate those situations but limits you to either a push in front of you or an open-push decision for yourself.

    The advantage of SNGEGT over the other two is that it has a real time calculator. So if you are in a tough situation during a game, you can use the software to calculate the EV for the situation before making your decision (without having to manually enter all the game information). Ethical debate aside, it works great.

    SNG Power Tools is the oldest and most used of the three but does not offer any functionality that you can not get from the other two.

    Food for thought.

    Comment by SitNGoTraining.com | October 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the heads up, I’ve only had a very quick look at SNG Power Tools yet but didn’t feel the interface was particularly intuitive, that can be explained by my lack of experience in poker related software though.

    I will look into the other options first before making the decision as to which I will invest in as for a micro limit player the prices are relatively expensive.

    Thanks.

    Comment by luckystraights | October 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

