Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Spirit Back!

I’ve just had a really great game that has given me my spirit back!

The game was pretty normal until it became 3 handed, and then it became a huge blood bath. The short stack battled her way up (again I’m assuming a she here) eventually taking the lead from the chip leader and I was in real danger of coming out 3rd. I was desperate to beat her at this point, not through her doing but because an observer in the chat window kept on shouting out for her to beat me, which I thought was pretty rude an angred me so much I’m about to complain to Poker Stars!

Anyways, I was getting really low on chips around the $2k mark when my computer dies! it reboots immediately and I quickly log back on to Poker Stars, whilst mutter swear words at Microsoft lol, the table pops up automatically, which was nice and saved me having to search for it, where I find the now chip leader (my nemesis :p) had increased her lead by a huge amount and I was now close enough that I might make 2nd.

I kept battling away and eventually the short stack was put all-in for the second time by the chip leader and was sent to the rail. I was pleased for the guaranteed 2nd place money, but I thirsted for the win. I didn’t change up much, and only two or three hands into heads-up, I had my opponent where I wanted her, I made the nut straight on the turn, and bet out to put her all-in, her leading initially only had $55 dollars left so made the call knowing she was beat with AT and I took down the win.

I put this win down to two key points :

1. Playing hands like KQ, JT, QJs, correctly and perhaps better then I have ever done up to know.

2. Secondly I really, really, really wanted this win, the title was even more important then the money this time, and that kept me aggressive and striving for the win, rather then allowing myself to give-up and become passive, accepting 3rd or 2nd place money.

November 2, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

