Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

18 Player Come Back

I’ve just completed what started off as a very stressful and irritating 18 player Sit-N-Go, but it patience and discipline with a sprinkling of luck at a couple of critical occasions prevailed and I began to enjoy it, I was finally railed in 2nd place.

Throughout 80% of the tournament I was totally card dead, went over twenty hands with A7s, being the highest card I had dealt and naturally no flush cards or aces showed up on the flop. Later on I found AQ, but I was getting really, well angry about not being able to make moves, defend against people who always raise every pot, due to being totally card dead.

I made it to the final table though, and really hoped to just hold and hopefully make 4th through a miracle to at least not have to add another loss to my database. When some quality cards came my way though, I managed to make some moves, and with those wins managed to hold on until the bubble burst. I then stepped it up a notch, playing aggressively and began to build my stack ahead of the competition, eventually making 3rd and then finally going heads-up against the chip leader.

From the tournament data I’ve just received from Poker Stars I can confirm that I only saw the flop 28 out of 111 times, most of this action occurred from 4 handed downwards.

Thanks to this cash, my bankroll as now reached another high point of $72.75 🙂

Here’s a few hands :

# HANDS PENDING, having problems with pokerhand.org #

November 10, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. First, congrats on your 2nd place finish. Nice job.

    Regarding the hand history converter, you might want to use the one at http://www.leggopoker.com/hh. I have found it more reliable than pokerhand.org.

    Finally, you mentioned being card dead and as a result unable to make a move or defend your blinds. As you develop in your game you will come to realize that poker is not about the cards you hold. It is about your opponents and how they will respond to a given situation. If you have an opponent who regularly raises from the button or cut-off when you are on the big blind, they can not have a premium hand every time they are doing it. If you are card dead, they have watched you fold hand after hand. So guess what, they are probably raising your blind with air. Pick any two and push back at them (reraise them 3x their raise amount). Unless they have a premium hand, they are folding to your reraise. But be careful not to do this against a tight player who only occasionally raises your blinds. This type of player probably has a premium hand and will felt you if you try to come of the top.

    Food for thought.

    Comment by SitNGoTraining.com | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. I noticed on my comments the link to the hand converter isn’t working. Here it is again…

    http://www.leggopoker.com/hh/

    Comment by SitNGoTraining.com | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks for the hand converter link, I’ll give it a whirl later when I’ve had some sleep (been up all night again lol).

    I usually do fight back when I’m in such spots, but when I’m low on chips, I don’t like to re-raise back against the type of players I was up against with any two cards, because if I missed the flop, I’m screwed, these guy’s seemed to take it as a “I’m the hardest competition” and seemed to try and out raise each other pre-flop.

    If I have the chips, I’ll re-raise with as low as 52o against a blatant steel, but when I’m low on chips, I’m more reserved and will hold on awhile for hands like QT, J9, and wouldn’t like to battle with anything lower then 87s in these spots. Problem is here, I was frequently getting hands like 52o, 54o, 72o, etc and just didn’t have it in me to fight with this kind of trash.

    Thanks for the pointers, I’ll bear it in mind the next time I’m stuck in such a situation.

    Comment by luckystraights | November 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

