Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Something New!

Only including real money sessions on Poker Stars I have played almost 150 Sit-N-Go’s and nearly 40 ring games, plus a bunch of freerolls, so I don’t expect to witness something I haven’t seen before, though in this game I got to witness just that.

What play was this you ask… well an opponent went all-in on every hand, yeah I know, you’ve heard it before, but this was different, in the entire game he only ever didn’t go all-in twice, each time he was the BB and just checked, he even won one on one of those occasions. He won, either through sheer luck or miraculously having the better hand against everyone who stood up against him, and he knocked out most of the competition taking us all the way down to 4 handed without anyone else really doing anything.

I’ve seen players who start off like this before, so folded everything, not wanting to risk my tournament on luck alone and increase his chances of winning on sheer luck either, until I found pocket kings of course. My kings held up and another player took down another pot, doubling up through him and his stack began to dwindle, but his all-in’s didn’t stop. This is the difference between crazy players like him that I’ve scene before, they usually go all-in and bust out early or build a huge stack and try and coast into the money, this guy wanted everything and he wanted it now!

Thankfully, the antics that built is stack also destroyed it and he was soon on the rail, and we where in the money. I played well up to this point and continued to do so, eventually knocking out the 3rd place finisher leaving it heads-up. The heads-up match was tedious to say the least, I managed to steel plenty of blinds, but due to getting heads-up so fast, the blinds didn’t really amount to much at this point.

Then I arrive at my moment, I make a straight on the turn, and one I didn’t believe she would put me on, so when she bets out again, I re-raise her, expecting to take down a nice pot… then, I notice my straight card is a flush card and fear the worst, I’m committed and she shows a king high flush, with the ace of diamonds on the river, and it was all over, besides the few hundred I had scattered around my crying avatar, Ah well.

Here’s some hands :

The very first hand the maniac goes all-in, and whats worse I’ve just realized I would have made a full house!

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1693522

Maniac takes down two opponents with a lucky flop

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1693528

Maniac looses big, going all-in with QT against pocket kings

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1693530

Heres my big moment, pocket kings against lunatic, I actually took my time to think about this, as he could easily have any ace, so I really did not want to see an ace on the flop in this case

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1693536

Here’s the hand where hopes of a victory disapeared, I would have had to take a degree to work out how to screw this heads-up hand up any better!

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1693542

November 13, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

