Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

A Break

I’m having a little break at the moment. I’ve ran into a few difficult situations lately and even more really unlucky ones and its started to build up on me, so I’m trying to regain my energy and mentality for the game by sitting out for a while.

Its only mid day so far though and the urge to play is very strong, but I know I won’t be playing at my best so it will be just pointless, instead I’m doing a little reading on the psychology of poker, as my continued lack of emotional control after a bad run needs some real improvement, and I can always be more patient and more disciplined at the poker table.

November 19, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I can relate to what you’re saying, especially since I decided to take a long break yesterday after getting some seriously hilarious bad beats.

    I’ll check back of what happens with you as I’m interested in people that are in a similar position…good luck!

    Comment by S.A. | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks, I’ll keep you posted.

    I’m itching to play a few games today, but I don’t think I’m mentally prepared for it yet. Three times in the last two days I get no cards until I’m under ten times the big blind, find a holding like pocket queens on one occassion and push all-in, every time I’m called by a weaker hand, usually mutch weaker who then makes two pair to bust me, I should take it with a pinch of salt, but after just going through a really bad run its been another hard hit.

    I may have a game tonight, if not hopefully I’ll have regained some mental strength during my day off.

    Comment by luckystraights | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. I too am itching with the temptation to deposit more money into my accounts and start playing. But I feel I’ve got to keep my promise to myself, at least for once..

    I’m waiting until next month and then I’m gonna deposit $30 into one site, which do you prefer and why? I guess I play better at Full Tilt, but I like the $0.01/$0.02 cash tables at Poker Stars. Where do you think a tight player would do better?

    Cheers

    Comment by S.A. | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  4. I used to play at Full Tilt on the play money tables, and thats where I blew my first deposit of $50, so moved to Poker Stars for the lower limits and have now come to prefer Poker Stars, more for the layout then anything else though.

    I think with $30 I would deposit on Poker Stars, because they offer lower limits so you won’t be playing too much of your bankroll in one game. Also for a tight player you want to play in a structure that favors your style, such as relatively slow blind increases, I think both Full Tilt and Poker Stars both use 10 min intervals for there Sit-N-Go’s though so that shouldn’t be a problem.

    I only consider playing at Poker Stars and Full Tilt now, I’ve tried various other offerings, including Titan, Bet Fair and VC Poker but just don’t like the interface.

    Whichever site you choose I wish you luck, skill and success.

    Comment by luckystraights | November 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

