Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

18 Player Win

Its been a very slow day today, only just finished my first game of the day. This one was almost two hours though, another 18 player Sit-N-Go, and I’m very pleased to announce I took 1st place 🙂 good job too, to be honest my mind was starting to wander.

I was short stacked on the final table, having to abandon a large pot just before the tables got merged, but I waited patiently and managed to steel a few pots, which I believe I can credit to my tight table image, other times I had high pocket pairs or other strong hands that held up, doubling me up at key times. Around 5 handed I had taken the chip lead and played it safe to ensure I made the money.

Once the bubble burst all stacks where very close, so I had to be careful, but I think I played the right balance, tried to see some flops with hands I would normally drop that had strong potential and stayed out of trouble when I had to, it paid off, I managed to take a few key pots to keep me in the lead and down to 3rd handed.

Once heads-up I soon held a commanding chip lead, but each time I tried to get my opponent all-in, he evaded me, the one time I did manage it, he doubled up and our stacks soon became almost equal. I kept the pressure on though and soon developed an increasing lead, my opponent then started to routinely push all-in when in the BB to steel the blinds, it didn’t phase me too much as I usually stool them back on the next hand, but I didn’t want this to continue so when had a sufficient enough lead I called with jack high, bad timing on my part he showed KTs, luckily for me a jack arrived on the turn to give me the win.

My bankroll has taken a nice increase in profit from this, and after a relatively early morning I’m feeling a bit tired so I might end today’s session on a positive note with just the one game, though I do have to get back into a 4 game routine soon to ensure I make my bonus.

November 25, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. It’s always great to get a win especially if it’s at the larger SNG’s where you can achieve a very favourable return and not have to give up 4-5 hours to do so.

    My pokering career (OK Hobby) is fairly new, totally addicted and hope that my rather small bankroll will increase.

    Think I’ll bookmark you so can come back and see how you are doing!

    Good luck with your poker!

    Comment by Dvotee | November 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks for stopping by.

    I do enjoy these 18 player sit-n-go’s, in fact there probably my favorite format I’ve tried so far. Due to only having a limited bankroll myself I haven’t tried a larger field event with a paid entry yet though I am keen to try both 45 person sit-n-go’s and larger scheduled tournaments.

    When I’m not playing on tilt or get pissed off with the state of play, where I tend to finish very early, I generally do well in these, usually cashing in 3rd place or higher.

    Comment by luckystraights | November 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. My biggest win (came 1st) was a field of 474 people over at pokerpages but unfortunately it was a ‘bugsy points’ buy in to win more points (they changed it the week before I won) so I would have won a reasonable amount but I can say that I have won a tourney with a large field (but have never repeated that) although did come 11th out of 396 on PKR (hate that when you miss out on the final table)

    Comment by Dvotee | November 26, 2007 | Reply

  4. Nice job, how much was the buy-in for the tourney?

    Comment by S.A. | November 26, 2007 | Reply

  5. The buy in was ‘Bugsy points’ that you earned as you played and got ‘placings’ in touneys etc so no real money exchanged hands. I would not have been happy had it been real money and only won points!!!!

    Comment by Dvotee | November 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

