Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Crap Day

Well its been a crap day today, lost 3 games in a row, so calling it a do, although I’m planning on sitting in on a cash game later. The good news is that all 3 games where totally different and each gave me something to think about, and reminded me of some weaknesses.

The first game never gave me action for my strong hands which reminded me I need to bluff now and again, which is something I hardly ever do online, but do pretty well live. The 2nd game reminded me that if someone is calling you all the way to showdown, they sometimes do have a hand, even if the do make a habit of doing it with nothing.

Finally my last game showed a weakness in my game when I have a maniac on my table. My normal strategy is to be patient and to not tangle with them and then when the cards come stack them, if the cards don’t come though as they didn’t in this game I’m left short stacked and am under even more pressure not to make a move. In this instance Mr Lunatic raised virtually every pot regardless of what he held, I should have played back at him and re-raised with some speculative hands, rather then just let him dominate the table whilst I fold to his constant raising.

I don’t feel I have played well at all today, but not too badly either, in two games out of the three I was beaten by pocket aces and the other by a set. At least I picked up some much needed points and bumped into some situations to get me thinking.

November 28, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Ditto for me and it could of been oh so better. I suppose we are all going to have crap days so let’s hope this is ‘our crap day of the week’

    I like your bonus race thing, I might nick that (hope you don’t mind) 😉

    Comment by Dvotee | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. I like it too, helps me to keep track of where I’m at.

    Comment by luckystraights | November 28, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

