Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Unlucky Straights

Today has been a little fucked up for me, played 3 Sit-N-Go’s and lost everyone because my opponent hit a straight.

In the last game, where I was railed in 5th I played well, but the usual game of re-building all the short stacks over and over had begun and soon I was on the bottom of the stack pile with a little under ten big blinds, as they reached 75/150.

On the final hand I look down at 98s in the BB, another short stack, with maybe 11 or 12 big blinds makes a standard raise, I needed to make a stand and if he had a high pocket pair a hand like 98s gave me the best chance of beating him so I jam all-in, hoping he will fold.

My opponent calls with pocket jacks, the board gives me two pair, and for a moment I think I made a straight and then I realize as the chips slide over to my opponent, no it made him a straight, 789TJ.

Variance… I know, I know, but to loose every game to a single opponent who goes on to make a straight is well fucking sick :p

EDIT : In hindsight I would likely have had more luck getting a middle stack to fold rather then a fellow short stack

November 30, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

