Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Handsome Hands

I’m going to make an effort to post a few hands, which don’t involve all-in decisions or bad beats, which have been the majority of my posted hands in recent weeks so to kick things off, I’ll post a few hands from today :

First Game of the day, 2/4c NL cash game

I’m in early position, and raise to 4xBB with AQs. The flop is harmless enough, anyone who called a 4x raise should not hold a 2 or a 3 here, I may have been up against a small over pair though, I lead out with a bet of 2/3 the pot. I thought that might have ended it there, but I get two callers.

The turn brings only an inside straight and it checked around. The river brings a jack, which is a scary card for me, as the better could have easily called my pre-flop raise with AJ, KJ, QJ or even JT.

A few things go through my mind. I don’t want to get bluffed out of the first pot I have built up, and I was about to leave the table, if I fold here, I wouldn’t be happy until I regained my loss so considering the pot odds, I opted to make the call in case he was bluffing. It wasn’t an easy call, I came very close to folding, so actually think he made a good stab at it on the river, the downfall was his weak bet, against a stronger player I might interpret this as a value bet or trying to sell a call, etc but here it just looked too weak, if he had the jack he would be better much more, 40c at the lest, even with me checking down the turn. I was obviously dead to a pair, but would have expected a pair to wake up on the turn, and check on the river when the jack hit.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1810086

$1 + $0.20 Sit-N-Go – 1

Here’s a hand I was very proud of, an aggressive and tricky opponent was representing trips. I had made numerous notes on him throughout the match, and went over every little detail I had on him, and eventually happy with my read, pushed all-in with A high. He fold and I take down the pot.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1810869

A poor read in a similar situation against the same player, lead to my exit in 4th however, so I guess he got his revenge.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1810918

Here’s a thread I’ve opened on the above hand, as I have doubts that I was committed to it, even against an aggressive player.

Kicker Trouble

$1 + $0.20 Sit-N-Go – 2


I was excited to see this flop, as you’d expect, but as is usual when I hit trips, theres a draw or two out there so I lead out. I’m less happy when I see 4 calls behind me, but I try and remain optimistic I’ll still be ahead at showdown, and take down a nice pot. Then the worst possible card comes which could complete a straight or the flush, I check and a player behind me makes a large bet, an all-in follows for only 75 more, and two callers call behind, I’m done with this hand.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1811492

Do you ever get a feeling where you should play that total trash you pick up, well I had that feeling this time, I was tempted to see a flop with this actually, but having a short stack who had started to push all-in on acting behind me put me off, I didn’t want to threw on 100, only to have to drop it when the little guy moves in, I can’t call with this trash.

However, now and then its a good idea to see a flop with that trash you felt good about pre-flop, this is a prime example lol

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1811520

I play well up to this point, really well compared to how I feel I’ve been playing lately, and then I play this hand so fucking stupidly, that it puts my tournament on a knife edge, which of course stabbed me in the fucking chest when I push, and my opponent flops trips. I’m sick of loosing with the lead hand when I’m all-in, but its stupid play like this that put me in that position in the first place, so I have only myself to blame.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1811562

I played that hand so stupidly, I new he would raise like that with any two cards and had beeing doing, as I couldn’t defend myself with a very short stack still hanging around at bubble time. On the flop I was sure I was way ahead, so instead of leading out an or coming over the top, I slow play it and let him bluff at it. The play on the turn was even worse, he could have easily been pushing the action with 78 and then re-raised with a straight.

I’m so angry with myself for blowing all my good work early on. I need a cup of tea!

Thats poker baby :p

December 14, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

