Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Laydowns and Bluffs

Just finished my 2nd Sit-N-Go of the evening, it started off well, but I had to lay down two good hands, which cost me in chips, and then I folded the best hand to a bluff, which put me on tilted me somewhat, now very short stacked I’m on the rail in 5th.

Here I find QQ UTG and open with a 4xBB raise, its folded to someone in MP who re-raises to 7xBB. I was tempted to call this and try and flop a set or avoid an ace or a king on the flop, but felt this guy wouldn’t re-raise with anything lower then AK, which wasn’t a big enough edge for me, and so early I didn’t want to re-raise him off his hand. The SB then re-raises to 20xBB and my decision is made.

Both players show KK, and I’m pleased to have made a good lay down, but stupidly inform the table, which would allow a smart player to try and bluff me off a similar holding, I instantly regretted it.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1818816

This was a hand I wasn’t happy with. I had flopped trips but my kicker was very weak, and I’m conscious of loosing a tournament because I went broke in almost the same spot against an aggressive player not long ago where I held Q4 and flop trips.

I chose to lead out here. I did this because I didn’t feel at this point my opponent was aggressive enough to bet out here with most hands, whether he hit or not and I didn’t want it checked behind, which would put me in a position where I wouldn’t know if a higher queen was slow playing his trips. I get re-raised and I quickly drop it, not wanting to loose more chips to a higher queen, but feel I may have been bluffed. I had close to no information on him, and as I was watching the 2005 HU championship whilst playing, I wasn’t as tuned into the feel of the table as I should have been. I just had to let it go.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1818836

After having doubts I lay down the worst hand in the above hand, this affected me even more so, and if I had enough chips to get into much trouble, I probably would have done.

This hand highlights why I feel paying very close attention to the table is very important, if I had paid my usual amount of attention to this players previous actions, I would have taken down this pot, and avoided any tilt that the lay down may have induced.

I lay down my hand here, because I was reasonably sure I saw this guy check-down a nut flush on the turn, in similar circumstances and then  re-raise to a bet on the river, I didn’t want to give him the pleasure of doing it to me, however if I had paid close attention to his previous actions, I likely would have realized he didn’t hold the flush and would have taken down the pot. When he showed his cards, I expected to see over cards, or the flush, the deuces surprised me and it annoyed me I lay down the best hand.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1818860

December 17, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

