Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Ouch!

Looking to kill some time until a tournament stars I sit in another 18 player Sit-N-Go. I’ve just witnessed a few crazy plays so I buckle in for a bumpy few rounds until most of the idiots are busted.

I find QQ in the CO and raise to 4xBB, it gets re-raised from the BB, I now my hand is good, but its too early in the tournament for a re-raise, don’t want to go broke to an Ax that may hit, so I just call, the button calls behind me.

The flops all baby cards, so I lead out, the button calls and the BB folds. The turn gives me a set, now I’m sure I’m ahead but it could also have completed a flush draw so I lead out to see if I’m getting re-raised. If the turn made this guy a flush I’m sure he would re-raise me here, as he just calls I feel I’m way ahead of maybe an under pair or AK/AQ thats hanging on for an ace or king.

The river brings a king, so I check, hoping my show of weakness will persuade my opponent to move all-in, he’s pushed a few times already so this was easily in is nature to do it with AJ, but I was hoping he had AK, and pushed thinking he was ahead.

I get my wish, but loose the pot.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1827160

December 19, 2007 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

