Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

A Shit Time

I’m having a shit time this session. Been sat playing non stop for close to 3 hours, getting nothing but junk, I have to move tables 3 times after they all break, up, all my money’s going on blinds as I wait and wait.

Then on a new table I watch a stupid idiot donk off more then half his stack with T9s, capping the betting with nothing, next hand he goes all-in, I put it down to steaming and call with 99, not a great hand, but the best hand I’ve had in 3 hours. He shows AT and paired his T on the flop to double up and decimate my stack.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1831363

I’m sick of being surrounded by action with no cards, I’ve had crap all night. I’ve added to my stack, in case a good hand does eventually come, but I’ve now put $10 down on this session and would like to see a return for my time.

Another session like this tomorrow and I’ll be glad to get back to the tournaments, paying more then 15 orbits of the blinds without a hand fucking stinks!

December 20, 2007 - Posted by | NL Cash Games | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Lucky. I think you should take a step back and evaluate your play. First off I think you’re wasting your time with .01/.02 cent NL He. You’re much better off playing the .05/.10 cent NLHE. You can really win some money provided you keep playing strong solid poker. Be patient and wait for good opportunities. The penny ante games are a waste even I don’t waste my time with them even though I’m building bankroll as you are. Just keep on grinding…it’s not a sexy story but it’s efficient and it will give you a good base of skills to build on when you move onto higher stakes. One thing is true, you can’t move up levels unless you win consistently at the current level. So I would jump to .05/.10 and see where that goes. I think you’re good enough to play those levels. Remember building your bankroll is the plan and not trying to outplay donks at the penny ante level. They just won’t get it.

    Keep up the good work. Looking forward to your next post!

    Comment by brooklyn bum | December 20, 2007 | Reply

  2. I don’t have the bankroll to move up yet, I’ve only got around $75 in my roll at the moment, after such a bad run in the tournaments lately, and even with that I get nervous about the prospect of blowing a buy-in or two.

    I keep seeing people around me get up to 4x the max buy-in, and I’m hoping to hit a score like that sooner or later, but either I get great cards on a very passive table or no cards on an action pact table.

    I’m going to have another session tomorrow, I may even start of with two tables at the same time instead of just one and go from there.

    Comment by luckystraights | December 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

