Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Online Poker Rooms

As I’m still yet unable to get back to some regular games, I thought I’ll take the time to write about my favorite online poker rooms.

Full Tilt Poker

The first poker room where I deposited was Full Tilt Poker, where I deposited $50. That first $50 lasted me around two or three days. I began playing 0.25/0.50 limit cash games, and with no knowledge of bankroll management I was unaware that I was out of my depth even if I possessed the necessary skills to beat these games, which I clearly did not have.

Full Tilt left an impression with me though so I kept playing on the play money limit and PL cash tables until I learned what I was doing and could afford a re-deposit. It was only when I discovered bankroll management that I realized I couldn’t afford to play at FTP for awhile and reluctantly looked to find a new poker room.

The main thing I like about FTP is the look and feel of the tables (with the racetrack theme), and the lobby interface. The lobby is very easy to navigate, with convenient tabs taking you to your preferred game and variety. The cashier button is another nice addition too and saves going though a drop down menu to add funds or check the status of your bonus. I even like how the adverts and promotions and organized at the top of the lobby window, generally out of the way, but just noticeable enough that anything your interested in catches your eye.

Another clever thing I like about the lobby is the simple key of tournaments symbols, giving you a simple description of what each symbol represents. This is so simple yet is lacking in many poker rooms I’ve visited, where I simply don’t know what all there symbols mean.

There are a few things that I dislike about Full Tilt however. The first is that the lobby doesn’t have handy buttons to limit the viewable Sit-N-Go’s and tournaments into different stake categories, such as micro, low, medium, high, etc, although you can fine tune this, by clicking the small edit tab and entering a minimum and maximum buy-in. Another small dislike I did have with Full Tilt was that the freeroll and “point” tournaments where mixed in with all regular tournaments, but this has now been changed.

My biggest issue with Full Tilt however, is to do with the way in which player notes are entered. You basically have to open a new dialog box for each opponent you wish to make notes on, which isn’t a terribly bad thing, I just prefer to have one dialog box tucked in the corner for notes and chat, like Poker Stars.

Overall I think Full Tilt Poker is an excellent poker room and despite not playing real money games there for awhile it has remained one of my favorites. If I had to give it a rating I would give it an 8.6/10, if they offered the note taking method I prefer it would get an unequivocal 10/10.

Poker Stars

Poker Stars was recommended to my be a member of the Home Poker Tourney forums, as it offered the smaller stakes cash games that would suit my bankroll better. As with Full Tilt I deposited $50 and have been playing most days since.

Initially I wasn’t keen on the look and feel of the tables on Poker Stars and I even began to look elsewhere, thankfully however, I found the Hyper Simple theme and I was able to settle in, eventually coming to prefer Poker Stars over Full Tilt.

I’ll start of with what I like about Poker Stars. Firstly the lobby is very easy to navigate and as a simple look and feel, which I prefer, as with FTP I like cashier button, and the game clock. I really appreciate the “stakes” buttons within the tournament and sit-n-go tabs where you can quickly narrow down the available list of tournaments to fit your individual bankroll, which saves struggling to find a suitable buy-in game hidden by hordes or lower or higher stake games.

The instant hand history took some getting used to, but I now prefer it over the graphical system used on Full Tilt, as you can copy and paste the data from a hand, whilst in a game and have it ready to upload to a hand converter, such as pokerhand.org.

The biggest attraction with Poker Stars fro me though is the way the interface manages player notes, it doesn’t sound like a big thing, but I make notes on every player I sit down with, so its a key thing to get right for me to feel at home.

I can’t fault Poker Stars and would give it 10/10

Sun Poker

The latest poker room for me to visit is Sun Poker, and its already earned the number 3 spot without me even playing there yet.

How?, you ask, well firstly the nice people at support gave me $5 when I signed up, always a nice bonus, but even more importantly the use the same player notes interface that Poker Stars do, told you this was a biggy didn’t I lol, the lobby is also familiar being very similar to both PS and FTP, so its naturally easy to navigate.

Now to a few things that separate Sun Poker from FTP and PS. Firstly you have to use the menu to login, as there is no automatic login window as with FTP or no convenient login button like PS, you have the option to have your loging details remembered, but you still have to login via the menu.

The Sun Poker lobby to me is a kind of blend between the FTP and Poker Stars lobby’s, I think its harder to find a game from the available list for each game type, as they are so many different buy-in’s and varieties returned, but the lobby makes it very easy to find other games such as 7 Card Stud or Omaha which have there own tab within the main lobby window. Another interesting thing with Sun Poker is that you can find games listed in both £ and $ from the same account by default.

So far, I would rate it at 9.4/10.

January 15, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. LS – Full Tilt now has the sortable filters in the tournament lobby that you thought were missing. I’m starting back there once my Poker Stars cashout hits Neteller!

    Comment by Yorkshire Pudding | January 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. I had a look over at Full Tilt, and I think thats definitely an improvement, now they just need to do the same for the stakes you play at, and I’ll be very happy 🙂

    After reading your recent posts on your blog, I’m very tempted to deposit on FTP and play some of there Sit-N-Go’s, but I’m committed elsewhere at the moment, I’ll get back there soon though, I’m interested to try out there knock out games.

    Comment by luckystraights | January 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. Great to hear your still doing okay, I have been following your blog for a bit, what would I have to do to get you to try my site 🙂 Heheh just kidding, but we are giving away 4 sponsorships to either the WPT and EPT every six months, two to our top players and two to random real money players and we are still looking for players of your calibre 😉

    Comment by Lucas Poker | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. I have played at Full Tilt as well as Poker Stars (Who hasn’t nowadays) I may give Sun Poker a bash though

    Good Luck and Stay LUCKY

    Paul

    Comment by FurnessPoker | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks for stopping by guys, sorry I haven’t been link hoping. I very rarely come back to this site, as my blog is now updated at http://www.luckystraights.com.

    Comment by luckystraights | August 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

