Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

2nd Place

I’ve been feeling much better today, the stronger pain killers are doing there job, and have reduced my pain considerably, though they have brought with it some side effects, which also limit my play, but I felt well enough earlier today a Sit-N-Go and managed to make 2nd place.

Several hands where key in this game, so I’ve posted them bellow :

My first pot set me up for the rest of the match. I held pocket 4’s in LP and called a pre-flop raise, as it was only raised to twice the big blind. I hit my set on the flop, and the raiser leads out, with so many people to act behind I wanted to price out any flush draws, so I made an aggressive re-raise. Its folded around to the re-raiser who then moves all-in, now I know I’m in good shape and call.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1963027

Here, I was sure TP was good, and was all-in on the turn, to end up splitting the pot.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1963035

I probably should have opened with a raise here to try and pick up the blinds, the SB and raised a few pots and I was sure he was simply steeling the blind, he probably held a medium ace at best.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1962694

I could have easily raised here with KJ but decided I’ll flat call for a change of pace. The flop gave me nothing, so I check, hoping to pick up something on the turn, I get my wish and make TP, but see it as a chance to let my opponent make a bluff, he leads out and I make an aggressive re-raise. I was a little surprised when he called here, the board pairs on the river and I check it down.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1962727

Here I think I should have lead out on the river to try and pick up the pot, if I got re-raised it would have been an easy lay down, but I let him pick up the pot, and I’m sure he doesn’t have much. This hand likely influenced the one bellow.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1962675

This could easily be my worst play of the game. I make an aggressive re-raise pre-flop, but miss and pay off a large bet on the river. I would usually make a c-bet after a pre-flop raise, but knew it wouldn’t be bought on such a raged flop so elected to see a cheap turn. Failing to lead out on the turn was my next mistake, in this case I would have likely have been re-raised and I could have let it go. When the board pairs on the river I feel my opponent is making a move with an AJ, AQ style hand and I call.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1962743

It took me awhile to accept, but this guy probably wasn’t making moves on the river, not with big bets anyway, if he was leading out for a big bet on the river, he probably held something.

Here I found kings and raised enough so that the short stack would be all-in if he calls. With an A on the flop, and one player all-in I decide to check it down, as I didn’t want to pay off anymore money if the other guy called with a weak ace.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1963783

When we got to heads-up I started to loose it and felt I donked off loads of chips, though I did eventually get myself back together and was on my way backup, when the cards didn’t fall my way, sending me out in 2nd.

Here’s the key hands since we where heads-up :

Not long in to heads-up, I raise it up with K9, and make an impatient bluff on the flop. You could say I was unfortunate to run into a hand, but I think I was being too impatient to make a move here.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1963804

I’m cheating, after going through the history, theres too many hands for me to be bothered posting. All are the similar kind of thing, I got aggressive with marginal hands when I thought I was ahead and took a pot or folded to hand it to the chip leader. I was doubled up once with KT, against A4.

Anyways I’m skipping to the final hand :p

I find pocket 8’s, and make an aggressive raise, I could have gone all-in pre-flop I suppose, but for whatever reason I elected not to here. The flop was even great or a disaster, so I took my shot and pushed all-in, my opponent hit on the river to send me out in 2nd, but I’m happy with how I played overall.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1963830

January 19, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

