Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Today’s Games

I decided to multi-table two Sit-N-Go’s today as I want to catch up with my bonus schedule, I think I would have done better single tabling, although I felt I handled the two tables better then the last time I tried, I’m still not as comfortable multi-tabling the Sit-N-Go’s. Even with only playing two tables, I feel like I miss lots of small bits of information that can end up being important in a hand.

Multi-Tabling, Sit-N-Go 1 of 2

Here I called a raise with AJs, not a move I would do with AJ here, but felt my flush potential compensated for calling with a hand that could be dominated by AQ, AK.

I think I played this hand OK, and he played it exactly like I expected him to, and knowing this I should have probably pushed all-in on the flop, giving me the option of taking it down there, though perhaps loosing too much action from a hand like AQ, AK in most cases.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1967645

After being draw out on the above hand, I had to wait patiently for a hand I could double up with, that came with AK. A few hands down the line and I’m forced to push all-in a few times and keep myself afloat as the blinds increase, until I’m critically low on chips and just have to roll the die, failing to hit I’m out in 4th.

Multi-Tabling, Sit-N-Go 2 of 2

One of many AJ hands recently, the game I’ve developed says I shouldn’t raise so early with AJ, and mix up my raises and calls with AJs, but I’m beginning to think if this strategy needs some work, as I seem to miss out on lots of pots that I should be picking up with this hand.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1968388

I may have played this differntly if I was only playing one table and could concentrate on each tables action more, but I probably would have done the same play. I realized my normal raise would put me to a dangerously low chip position and if I missed the flop my decisions where only getting harder, so I pushed all-in.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1968571

I was a little torn as to how to handle this, I would have liked to have been the aggressor and push all-in, but with a smaller push and call in front, I felt folding was best option.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1968577

Around middle position I felt KT was enough to push in and take the blinds or get lucky to double up.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1968585

Here though I folded A8 which was stupid I should have pushed here too, sometimes I seem more tempted to push with a relatively high king then a medium ace, perhaps as I’m less likely to be dominated with KT then I am A8, either way I should have pushed all-in here.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1968588

After letting myself get so low on chips I needed to get lucky and with a few folds in front I decided to make a stand with Q8.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1968591

In Summary

I used to be strong at short stack play, but I’m obviously out of practice as I didn’t feel comfortable here and sometimes I tend to think and re-think about what hands I should push with, probably folding a few hands I should have pushed with too, until it was too late to make a difference.

In my 2nd tournament I found AJ rather a lot, but didn’t make anything from it, I think if I was playing just the one table I think I probably would have made a move with it at the right moment to try and take down a pot even when the blinds where lower then when I would normally make this play, just to get some value from the hand, but with multi-tabling I tended to just drop it, and probably missed out on picking up some key pots.

January 20, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

