Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Finding leaks in my sit-n-go play by multi-tabling

I’ve just completed another two-table session on the $1 Sit-N-Go’s, and have realized that multi-tabling them, even only two at a time, can help me pick up some areas I’m not confident in, because its blatantly obvious when I’m stuck on the one table for more then a few moments, with the other buzzing for attention, that I don’t automatically know how to handle the situation I’m in.

I know I’m getting better at it though, as I managed to make a few reads on some of my opponents in this final session of the day, despite sharing my time between both tables.

However, since there are areas of my game, that I’m not too confident in at the moment, I think I should stick to single tabling them until I build up some confidence in those areas. I think I’ve said that before, but I’ve really gotten hooked on two tabling these now, and find it far more enjoying, I will have to discipline myself to stick to the one table for awhile, despite benefiting from earning the frequent player points twice as fast for my bonus.

Here’s a few key hands from this final 2 table session :


In middle position I pick up 99 and call the big blind. The 8 high flop gives me an over pair and theres a bet and a call in front, so I raise to 5xBB to see where I’m at and to charge any draws to make their hand. The limper calls, everyone else folds.

The turn brings an ace and this time villain leads out for 2xBB. I don’t have much information on him prior to this, but with him calling my bet on the flop I felt he was either drawing or was trying to pick up the pot with an high card like a weak king or ace. If he held top pair, I would expect him to bet more on the flop, and check the turn. By leading out here how he does, It makes me feel he made his hand, if he was drawing I would also expect him to check here.

I fold, so I didn’t get to see his hand, but I didn’t want to risk any more on this hand so early. If I called his bet here, I would either get lucky and get a free river card or more likely face a larger bet without me improving.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1981397

I had previously noticed that if onckie had a strong hand he would simply push all-in. A check here either indicated something suspicious, or that he had nothing. On the turn he makes a very aggressive re-raise, and its clear not with the best hand. I made note that a large bet such as this could be a bluff, but an all-in from him means, he’s ever got the best hand or thinks he has.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1981373

Here I find JJ in late position. Its 5 handed and I’m 4th in chips. Needing to pick up some chips to be within a chance of the money, I make my standard raise instead of limping in, I get one caller from the big blind. On the flop my hand doesn’t look so strong, but I make a strong continuation bet anyway to continue my show of strength and pick up the pot.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1981465

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I know what you mean about multitabling. Personally I find two a good balance, only one means sometimes you can get a bit impatient waiting for decent hands, more than two and I find it hard to focus on all the players. Good luck finding the right balance!

    Comment by hpcbuzz | January 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

