Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Multiple-tabling, whilst on a bad run?

Too quick to judge, maybe, but after one long session, cashing in only two out of my eight games, suggests I’m on a bad run, especially considering some of the hands. AK and KK both run into aces, my TT gets out flopped by 77, and my AQ gets out flopped by AJ…. I could go on, but you get the idea.

So, I’ve come to thinking, should I be multi-tabling the Sit-N-Go’s whilst I appear to be on a bad run?

The statistical approach, at least from what I understand of it, suggests that I should, as everything evens out in the end, and the more hands I play the sooner I’ll get through the bad run. Then there’s the psychological approach that suggest you should stop and take a break, because a bad run can affect your play, and put you on tilt.

Well I’m certainly not on tilt, not during the session anyway. Though I must admit to feeling a bit down about it afterwards, more so the final two games, where it was yet more of the same that I had experienced during the start of the session.

I’m pondering with the idea that I should slow down, and only play a single table…. (yes its a recurring theme for tonight / today) instead of 2 tabling them, as I feel like I’m on a bad run, and that way I’ll loose less, or actually lose money more slowly… but I can’t help reverting back to the statistical approach and I agree with it, as long as I’m not on tilt, and letting previous games affect the current session I should keep playing, and keep multi-tabling, if that’s what makes me happy, shouldn’t I?

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

