Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Slow Playing Aces, Too Cute For a $1 Sit-N-Go…

In another single table $1 Sit-N-Go, its 5 handed and I find pocket aces in late position. With a fold in front, I decide to limp in, rather then make my standard raise. On the flop I start to regret it, as there’s both flush and straight potential out there, and my opponents love to chase a flush. I lead out with a pot size bet and get called.

It felt like he was drawing here, so when the 3rd flush card falls on the turn, I regret being cute, but with so much at stake and with the ace of diamonds in my hand in case he has made his hand I push all-in. Villain takes a long time to think about it and eventually calls with 98, 2nd pair and a gut shot, with not one diamond.

To my horror he makes it on the river and I’m out in 5th. If he turned over a flush, nice hand, wish I’d raised, etc… but to chase that, with not one diamond… was I being too cute here, or just one of those things we don’t like to talk about?

http://www.pokerhand.org/?1985525

This was a bit of a cooler, so instead of diving straight into another couple of sit-n-go’s I’m giving myself a quick break to re-compose myself before I dig in again. I’m aiming to get 10 have these completed before 4am, two tabling, but I’ll be happy with 8 if I can finish in profit. I’m getting awfully worried by the amount of 5th place finishes I’ve had since yesterday, but can’t see much wrong with how I’ve been playing.

If tonight finishes on a similar note to last night, I think, if only for psychological reasons, I’m going to have to slow down a bit, just to steady myself and will probably try and stick with playing the games one at a time for awhile, though that will be hard, now that I’ve gotten used to doing two at a time.

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

