Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Poker, Mental Strength and Carrying on Through Adversity

The bad run continues, failed to cash in all 5 of tonights games. Even had the misfortune of having my pocket aces cracked twice, nothing I could have done second time round, just one of those things, but after 2 long sessions of constant losses, my net profit for the Sit-N-Go’s as dwindled to nothing.

I need a break, but with my bonus hanging over my head I don’t really have that luxury. Sure I’ve got plenty of days left, but I’m still needing to sit in 3 Sit-N-Go’s per day just to make it by the deadline, and Ideally I’m looking to get there far sooner.

On a few occasions my play does seem to have been affected though, and after almost 3 days of coming up short, I’m finding hard to brush it off and keep playing without the building losses affecting me, both on the table and off.

With that in mind, I’m taking some positive steps, within minutes I’m ordering Collin Moshman’s Sit ‘n Go Strategy and will reduce my time at the tables other the next couple of days, trying to pick up a more modest 3 or 4 frequent player points instead of the 10 I have been aiming for these past 3 days. I will also get back to reading my copy of Harrington on Hold ’em Volume 1.

As strange as it sounds, I’m also going to look more into Zen, meditation, techniques to improve your my power, inner strength and such, as reading Zen and the Art of Poker as opened my eyes to other disciplines that might be of benefit to my game. An example would be using teachings from other disciplines, such as Zen to help me improve my ability to steel pots late in tournaments without the cards. This is one of the weakest areas of my game, which I feel is more a process of mental strength as opposed to strategical thinking.

January 24, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Hiya stranger and a very belated happy new year.

    Been a bit busy of late so need some time to sit down and have a good read and catch up on how you’ve been doing.

    I see that you report you’re in the middle of a bad run. Just keep plugging away, I too was in one a while back and you feel tilt is your middle name but you will get through it. Just play as you normally would, you know you can do it!!!

    Hopefully I’ll get the chance to read everything over the next few days

    xxx

    Comment by dvotee | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hia, nice to see you back at the blogs. Been keenly awaiting an update from you lol

    Yep definitely in a bad run, lost with aces 3 times in the last two days alone, and ran into aces 6 times in the last 3 days, with quality hands on each occassion.

    I’m not prepared to put it all down to a bad run though, I’ve lost heart, lost some bottle, and picked up some weaknesses that I need to work on.

    Strangely I’m not tilting, felt a bit down now and then, but far from steaming. I can highly recommend the Zen and The Art of Poker book for this, the discussions on indifference has made a world of difference to me.

    My confidence is down though, but more through how I’m feeling about my own play then how I’ve been running. I’m keen to push myself and build my game, so I can earn a consistent cash / win rate and then move on, not there yet, but I keep working on it.

    Comment by luckystraights | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Lucky, Just keep playing solid poker. You can’t win everything in one day..it’s a long grind sometimes.

    If you continue to play solid and don’t look at the results but look at the way you’re playing…everything should come out roses at the end.

    You’re not making bad moves, eventually the odds and the math will work in your favor.

    Keep it going Lucky!

    Comment by brooklyn bum | January 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hang in there, man. 2 outers, 3 outers, 1 outers– it can make you crazy. It’s not them happening– it’s them happening over and over that is usually the culprit. Statisically unlikely stuff. Totally implausible stuff. Unbelievable. Everybody gets attacked by this ridiculous monster. Don’t let it grind you down.
    Larry W. Phillips
    “Zen & Art of Poker”

    Comment by Larry W. Phillips | January 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. Definitely, the first time I was in a bad run, I was driving myself crazy, walking up the walls, trying to work out how to get around it, and whatever I tried nothing would work.

    Now though, somewhat more experienced,I feel you almost have to embrace your bad run, realize it, admit it, accept it and just ride it out. Almost enjoying the fact that its not you thats at fault.

    If you can achieve this, and can keep your composure after your AK fails to hit against a small pair for the nth time in a row, it wont even be an issue in the next game. Instead, you’ll just sit there with the same thought processes as you did in the game before, and the game before that, unaffected by recent outcomes, and thats something I’m striving for.

    Thanks for stopping by xxx

    Comment by luckystraights | January 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks, man. Nice website. Good discussion. Good luck.
    Larry Phillips

    Comment by Larry W. Phillips | January 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Comment by sandrar | September 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

