Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

The Perils of Playing on Instict

I’ve been feeling good, 4 straight cashes, including two 1st places, has helped boost my confidence, then a bad read sends me out in 6th, it could have gone either way, but deep down I know I wasn’t focussed as much in this game as I should have been.

Note to self, don’t read, comment on blogs whilst playing online poker!

Here’s the hand, his bet on the turn, screamed weakness, and lots of times it is weakness, but here it wasn’t, I took a shot and it backfired, but if I had my head-in the game, it wouldn’t have cost me my seat, its a situation I should have gotten away from, but didn’t, it will remind me to stay focussed in future.

Here, I obviously wasn’t trying to represent I’ve made a set of Kings, I took too long to think about it, and he wouldn’t buy it anyway, he just felt weak, but looking back at things like how fast he called my 4xBB raise pre-flop, and how he checked the flop, which seemed odd, as he’s the guy whow will almost always lead out here, but I filtered all that out, and didn’t listen to what was important, why is he playing so obviously weak! Also noting A2 was way ahead of me, I made a stupid play and was doomed to go broke.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?2002323

January 27, 2008 - Posted by | Tournaments and Freerolls | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hey Lucky,

    Sometimes we just can’t let go of a big hand. It’s something I know I have to work at. It sucks but we’ve got to try harder in the future. Nice run though. A couple of wins isn’t so bad.

    Keep up the good work!

    BB

    Comment by brooklyn bum | January 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks, thats probably what happened with the 2nd game, against the set, I just couldn’t drop it, here though I think it was a clear fold, and instead of looking for reasons to fold, I looked for a way to win the pot, but this board was to risky for this type of play.

    Comment by luckystraights | January 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

