Lucky Straights

The ramblings and mumblings of a wannabe poker pro

Moving up in limits!

I’ve been pondering when to make this move after earn my bonus, and had previously settled on building my bankroll up a little more in the 1c/2c cash games, before moving up in limits, but after only two regular games on Poker Stars, since I stopped playing them awhile back, I’ve realized just what a bunch of total dick heads play the $1 games and I’m now moving up to the $5 games as soon as I earn my bonus.

It would be nice for me to have earned the move up via profits from cashes and wins, but I’m past caring, my bonus will pad out my bankroll enough that I can start to play the $5 games, and I’ve put up with far too much shit, so I don’t care what anyone thinks anymore, I’m moving up.

There is always a tipping point in these decisions, and mine is no different, it is having a jerk call your pre-flop raise with Q2, then not drop it when he hits, who then goes all-in when he spikes two pair on the river to bust you. Yeah I know, only TPTK, I could have gotten away from this, it felt like the idiot made two pair, etc… but none of that changes my decision or my views on the total pricks that frequent games.

http://www.pokerhand.org/?2061699

February 7, 2008 - Posted by | Sit-N-Go's 2 | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I have made the mistake of moving up in stakes too fast a few times in the past, I think I finally know the timing that works for me.

    I play stakes equal to about 5% of my current bankroll and just work my way up from there. Too conservative, maybe, but I always make money.

    Comment by Grundy | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great to hear!!!

    Keep up the good work!

    Remember to play solid and strong poker and the everything is gravy!!!

    It’s the decisions you make not the results!

    Don’t be results oriented, just strive for making the right decisions!

    Good Luck Lucky!!!

    Comment by brooklyn bum | February 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks

    I had a realization, I play poker because I love it, and play every day, but hardly ever enjoy the games I play, sure winning is always nice, but the stress and bull shit you have to put up with isn’t worth the money.

    I have only played 3 $5 sit ‘n go’s before and was rather distracted at the time, too focussed on my bankroll rather then my play. I hope this time to be different.

    If I go over my results from the last month of so, its been a long up and down, I have an occasional good day, followed by a bad game, bad day, etc and I’m always ending up around even. After watching my friend play and comparing myself, I feel clear, that I’m just bored, pissed off and annoyed at the games and the people I play with, so inevitably end up giving games away, because I’m just pissed off and don’t give a shit anymore.

    I’m really keen to move up permanently now, I’ll still probably play the $2 heads-up sit ‘n go’s now and then, but I don’t want to play any regular sit ‘n go lower then the $5 buy-in’s anymore (after my bonus), I’m just sick of them.

    Comment by luckystraights | February 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hi thanks for your hand selection. I just started playing omaha. Its diff and I like it, but when I get sick of it its always nice going back to 2 hole cards lol I always find myself winning bigger pots though in omaha.

    I read your other post about sng and stuff and all I can say its tough in sng to break even let alone make cash. I started off playing 2’s then 5’s. Got stuck at 5’s played 10’s a few times had good luck there. I really liked sng but it was just to long sitting there for over an hour to make a few bucks. I was down to my last 10 dollars and in 3 hours i made over 150 by playing ring games, the most I had ever made. You win fast and lose fast in ring games but its the only way you can seriously make any money in poker online as I see it, unless you are playing 50 sng and upwards you have no chance of turning this passionate hobby we call poker into a sideline moneymaker.

    Anyway I lasted a few more months playing ring games but I eventually lost my shirt lol. I took a few months off poker and I have come back refreshed now recharged better than ever. But just before I lost all my money I felt how u described in ur post. I feel the moral of the story is when u get into that state you shouldnt be playing poker.

    And also follow the gamblers creed, never bet more than you can afford to lose, so basically as soon as you deposit that money into your account, wipe it off like you already have lost it. You cant start thinking what you could have bought with that money lol.. Get back to me.

    Comment by Zexabeel | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. If you can’t beat the $1.20 SNGs then don’t even bother playing the $5, people still call PFR with Q2 and river two pair, do you think you’re going to play against a bunch of pros in the $5 and outplay them or something. I’ve played about 500 $1 SNGs and YES you get alot of bad beats but on the other hand you can nearly always double up before the blinds get to 100/200 which more than makes up for the few bad beats you get.

    Good luck, because if you can’t beat the $1 SNGs you’re going to need it, the $5 are also very easy to beat and a good player can make about $2 per tourney played so if you 5 table you can make about $8 p/h (take $2 off because you’re multitabling and might make a few errors).

    Comment by Mike | March 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. I also disagree with the guy who posted about saying it’s very difficult to make money from SNGs.

    It’s actually very easy in the low limits, I think they’re even easier to beat than cash games.

    (low limits is $5 and $10 SNGs, any lower than this a 40% ROI is sustainable, if a player is losing or breaking even in $2 or $1 he has serious leaks in his game and should buy some poker strategy books.)

    Comment by Mike | March 25, 2008 | Reply

  7. I likely do have some serious leaks, both in play and mentality for the game. I’m actually spending time in cash games at the moment instead to improve on both.

    http://www.luckystraights.com

    Comment by luckystraights | March 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

